Lawrence Power (viola/violin),
Simon Crawford-Phillips (piano)

Ysaÿe:  Poème Élégiaque, op. 12
Vieuxtemps:  Viola Sonata, op. 36
Georges Hüe:  Thème Varié
Franck:  Violin Sonata

Lawrence Power &
Simon Crawford-Phillips

Wednesday 1 April 2020 at 7:30pm

Alnwick Playhouse, Bondgate Without, Alnwick, NE66 1PQ


This concert of romantic music from Belgium and France ends with the well-known and well-loved Violin Sonata by César Franck. Before that we have three lesser known works. There is a beautiful piece for violin and piano by Eugène Ysaÿe, a powerful viola sonata by Henri Vieuxtemps and a short viola and piano piece by the largely forgotten Georges Hüe.

Lawrence Power is one of today’s foremost violists, in demand worldwide as a recitalist, concerto soloist and chamber music partner. His artistry and penetrating musicianship has gained him constant plaudits around the world. In this recital he plays both the viola and the violin.

Simon Crawford-Phillips has established an extraordinarily varied career as soloist, chamber musician and conductor.
He works regularly with Lawrence Power.

Both musicians played with profound sensitivity and technical brilliance, achieving an expressive intensity that made for compelling listening.

Rian Evans, The Guardian